Zera's Blog

A Citizen's View from Main Street

Allen West, Eat My Shorts


English: Official portrait of US Rep Allen West.My freshman year at college, I lived in the West Quad. When I moved in, the returning residents were displeased with Leon West, who ran the Quad. In defiance, they had hung this big banner from the windows (facing the center of the quad) of one of the houses that said “Leon West, Eat My Shorts!”It was the first thing I ever saw of campus life.

Nearly 40 years later I have long forgotten what the dispute was over, but the memory of that protest banner still remains.

In honor of Allen West, his despicable lies, his deep prejudices, his extremely divisive assertion that liberals should “get the hell out of the United States of America”, and the eternal spirit of protest, I reprise that old cry of defiance:

Allen West, Eat My Shorts!

January 31, 2012 - Posted by | GOP | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I believe that the tradition started in 1979, the year I lived in Allen-Rumsey house. On 1/1/79 the drinking age in Michigan changed from 18 to 21 and Leon West thereafter confiscated all of the “dorm dues” that the various social committees of the houses had collected ($20 each to pay for alcohol at parties). Here is a link to a photo from the Spring of 1979. http://tinyurl.com/yalup5u6

    Comment by Wayne Smith | August 2, 2017 | Reply

    • It was there on move-in day in 1973 – complete with banners and actual hanging underware. By 1979, I was long gone from dorm housing. Thanks for the memories, and the pic.

      Comment by Zera Lee | August 3, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

